Patterning

There are definitely a lot of links and patterns that have risen out of the exercises and web pages. On of the first connections that I made is a fairy obvious one. Nature is one of my favorite places to be. When I’m sitting outside and the sky is a bright blue and the clouds are white and fluffy, my heart is overwhelmingly happy. God has taught me so much about myself when I’m out in nature. I’ve walked through the valley of the shadow of death and I’ve come out on the other side as a stronger person. I’ve also written about adversity and change and took and related that back to the butterfly. You see, if the butterfly does not struggle its way out of its cocoon, then it will actually die. I’m sure that you’ve seen or connected that this life has brought me some heartache. I lost my dad when I was 16, my mom and I had a rocky relationship when I was younger, I almost died and lost my right foot back in 2009 and I spent over a year in a wheelchair after that accident. But through every struggle, through every tear shed, I’ve grown and I’ve learned more about myself and my purpose. As cliché as it may sound, I wouldn’t trade any of my adversities because they’ve helped me to become who I am today. From my car accident, I was able to buy a home that I get to live in with my two dogs and my mom moved in 2 years ago after my step dad left her for someone else. Due to the accident, I lost my job but through the loss of my job, I was actually able to go back to school and I graduate on May 14th. I truly believe that God never wastes a tear that we shed.

images-8

 

Another strong connection throughout my posts has been my love and detailed attention of one of my favorite objects: books! Reading has also been one of my greatest passions and reading instilled my love of fairy tales which therefore connects with my Disney obsession! I think that imagination fuels our ability to dream and when we dream it gives us the ability to create, whether we are creating for our future, for fun or for entertainment. One day I dream of owning a coffee shop/bookstore that is more than a bookstore. I want to create an environment for kids, a place where they can come and explore and create and imagine while their mom or dad takes a parent break and can relax, browse and drink a cup of coffee or tea. But that’s not all that I want this place to be. I want to be able to be a hangout for teens in the evenings, host live bands or cool local art shows and offer different types of art/creative lessons to the community. This dream connects to my love of reading and love of creating. I think this is why I want to become a librarian!

Another large pattern in my exercises is my connection to my friends and family, or mores my friends who I 582213_10151129738121419_1767283395_ndefine as family. I truly think that stems from being an only child. I hated being an only child so as I made friends, many of the achieved automatic sibling adoption. As I talk about sibling adoption, I also connected with the surrogate moms and a couple of surrogate dads, after my daddy passed away. The friends and men and women that God placed into my life to love, played huge roles in helping to develop the person I am today. Also, I think my mischievousness as a child and love of adventure plays into my love of solving mysteries and puzzles.

I’ve also talked a lot about movies and cartoons and television shows. I’ll be honest, I’m a bit of a tv junkie, but as I’ve stated before, I think it stems from my connection to my dad. We spent quality time together by going to the movies or watching cartoons together. My dad was never much of an outdoors person, neither is my mom really … I wonder where my love of it stems from? I think it truly stems from the fact that it’s where I feel most at peace. For me, I really wish I were sitting on the beaches of Hawaii right now or even more so the beaches of Antigua. I love to travel (as I’ve illustrated throughout these posts) and I can’t wait to see more of the world!

 

Leave a Reply

